Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

Alexander gets his first Top Fuel win

By Lee Elder
NORWALK, Ohio (June 24, 2018) – Blake Alexander won his first NHRA Top Fuel race, capping the Summit Racing Equipment Nationals at Summit Motorsports Park.

At the end of a weekend plagued by unraceable weather conditions, Alexander joined Matt Hagan (in Funny Car), Tanner Gray (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec in the NHRA’s Mello Yello Drag Racing Series winners celebration Sunday. The professional categories were ,limited to just one qualifying session on Friday and again on Saturday. Gray’s Pro Stock category did not make a pass on Friday.

Alexander said, “It felt really good. I got a little emotional because I’ve tried to do this my whole life. I’ve come close but have lost sponsors, thought I was never going to drive the car again.”

Alexander defeated Terry McMillen in the final round to become the 105th driver to win a Top Fuel event. Alexander was clocked at 4.011 seconds and 297.81 mph.

Matt Hagan beat Courtney Force in the Funny Car final. His time was 4.094 seconds, his speed 288.21 mph. Hagan is now tied with Jack Beckman for second in the Funny Car standings.

“We just had a solid car all weekend,” Hagan said. “We qualified well and went down the race track pretty much every lap.”

Gray’s victory over Erica Enders in the Pro Stock final was his third Pro Stock victory of the season. More importantly, the victory gave him the points lead. His winning time was 6.615 seconds, his speed 209.62 mph.

“This was definitely a huge accomplishment,” Gray said. “We struggled a lot at the beginning of the season. … It feels good to have finally turned a corner.”

Krawiec beat Jerry Savoie in the Pro Stock Motorcycle final crossing the timing beams in 6.923 seconds at 195.05 mph.

“It was a good weekend for us,” Krawiec said. “It was a struggle early on, trying to dance through the rain drops.”

The Norwalk race was the 12th of the season for the NHRA’s national tour. The standings at the end of the event:

Top Fuel: 1. Steve Torrence, 964; 2. Clay Millican, 847; 3. Tony Schumacher, 817; 4. Doug Kalitta, 749; 5. Leah Pritchett, 736; 6. Terry McMillen, 643; 7. Antron Brown, 622; 8. Brittany Force, 594; 9. Mike Salinas, 475; 10. Scott Palmer, 471.
Funny Car: 1. Courtney Force, 1,038; 2. (tie) Jack Beckman, 788; Matt Hagan, 788; 4. Robert Hight, 771; 5. J.R. Todd, 767; 6. Ron Capps, 755; 7. Tommy Johnson Jr., 637; 8. John Force, 577; 9. Shawn Langdon, 537; 10. Bob Tasca III, 532.
Pro Stock: 1. Tanner Gray, 882; 2. Greg Anderson, 856; 3. Erica Enders, 830; 4. Vincent Nobile, 812; 5. Drew Skillman, 751; 6. Jeg Coughlin, 732; 7. Bo Butner, 717; 8. Chris McGaha, 691; 9. Deric Kramer, 659; 10. Jason Line, 628.
Pro Stock Motorcycle: 1. Eddie Krawiec, 515; 2. Andrew Hines, 510; 3. LE Tonglet, 440; 4. Jerry Savoie, 389; 5. Hector Arana Jr, 377; 6. Scotty Pollacheck, 363; 7. Matt Smith, 355; 8. Angie Smith, 272; 9. Angelle Sampey, 257; 10. Hector Arana, 255.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: