Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Nationals Q3 & Q4

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (March 18, 2017) The final qualifying fields have been set for the 2017 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Nationals. 

Top Fuel 

The Sarge started the weekend on top and he stayed on top. Tony Schumacher posted the wicked quick time of 3.682 seconds at 328.22 mph during the first qualifying session on Friday and it held on. Doug Kalitta’s time of 3.698 seconds from Friday qualifying was also unable to be topped during the last two sessions on Saturday. Similarly, Antron Brown’s time of 3.716 seconds at 326.24 mph also kept him where he started the day off, third. Brittany Force, Steve Torrence, Troy Coughlin Jr., Leah Pritchett, and Clay Millican round out the top half of the field going into Sunday’s final eliminations. 

Funny Car 

Similar to Top Fuel the Funny Car field had very little change from Friday’s qualifying session to Saturday’s. John Force’s 3.832 second run was good enough to hang onto the pole position. Force’s teammate, Robert Hight stayed just off-pole with a 3.844 second lap, and points leader Matt Hagan’s time of 3.854 seconds put him in the third position. Courtney Force, Tommy Johnson Jr., Ron Capps, J.R. Todd, and Jack Beckman  help make up the top half of the final qualifying ladder. 

Pro Stock 

Jason Line stayed the fastest in the Pro Stock field as his time of 6.476 seconds from Friday was low-ET thus far. Line’s teammate, Bo Butner also stayed in his Friday qualifying position with a 6.477 second run. Erica Enders also stayed in her qualifying position from Friday, third, with a 6.490 second lap. Jeg Coughlin Jr., Greg Anderson, Shane Gray, Chris McGaha, and Drew Skillman will also start final eliminations from the top half of the field. 

Pro Stock Motorcycle 

Continuing the theme of not getting any faster for the last two sessions of qualifying, Pro Stock Motorcycle’s fastest runs were made on Friday. Reigning World Champion, Jerry Savoie will start raceday from the pole position with his 6.828 seconds at 195.42 mph. Eddie Krawiec’s 6.831 second lap will keep him in the off-pole position for tomorrow’s race. While Pro Stock Motorcycle newcomer, Joey Gladstone is third with his time of 6.848 seconds at 197.77 mph. Andrew Hines, Hector Arana, LE Tonglet, Hector Arana Jr., and Steve Johnson also qualified in the top eight in the field.  



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: