Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals Race Report

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (October 1, 2017) Today was an excellent day of racing at Gateway Motorsports Park. The final eliminations at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals made the playoffs an even closer, and thus more exciting, battle that looks as thought it could go all the way to the Auto Club Finals next month in Pomona.

Top Fuel

Doug Kalitta and Steve Torrence, two drivers highly-favored to win their first championship by the end of the year, ran head-to-head in an exiting final. Before racing Torrence in the final round, Kalitta got past Scott Palmer, Brittany Force, and and Dom Lagana. Torrence had three equally as tough competitors to take down, Shawn Langdon, Leah Pritchett, and Antron Brown, before running the final. Kalitta came out of the gate six-hundredths faster than Torrence but couldn’t get the job done with his 3.698 second effort at 331.28 mph. Torrence drover around Kalitta with his 3.684 second lap at 329.34 mph, thus extending his points lead in the category.

Funny Car

Funny Car rookie, Jonnie Lindberg made it to his third final of the season and took on the defending world champion, Ron Capps. Lindberg took out quite a few class veterans on his way to the final round, Tim Wilkerson, Alexis Dejoria, and Robert Hight to be exact. Capps defeated Jim Campbell, his teammate, Jack Beckman, and John Force before going toe-to-toe

with the rookie. The two left the starting line at the same time but Capps reached the finish line first. 3.879 seconds at 331.53 mph over Lindberg’s 3.904 second effort at 326.87 mph. Capps will go into the next event with the points lead.

Pro Stock

It was the red car versus the blue car in the final. KB Racing’s Greg Anderson and Jason Line were the final two standing at the end of the day. Line won his earlier matchups with Alan Prusiensky, Deric Kramer, and his other teammate, Bo Butner. Anderson beat Dave River, Larry Morgan, and Brian Self before taking on Line in the final for the win. Anderson left the starting line first and got to the finish line first with a 6.571 second lap at 210.73 mph. Line was nearly three-hundredths slower off the line despite being nearly three-hundredths faster at the stripe with a 6.545 effort at 211.26 mph.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

Two championship contenders, Andrew Hines and LE Tonglet duked it out in the final round for the win and leverage in the points. Tonglet rode past Joey Gladstone, Eddie Krawiec, Matt and Smith on his way to the finals. Hines path to the finals came by way of Andie Rawling, Karen Stoffer, and Scotty Pollacheck. It was a very close race between Hines and Tonglet with the latter coming away victorious. Hines had a quicker but losing 6.790 second pass at 197.94 mph. Tonglet got off the starting line a little bit quicker and picked up the holeshot win despite his 6.792 second run at 197.91 mph.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: