Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals Q1 & Q2

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (September 29, 2017) The AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals mark the halfway point in the countdown as the third of six playoff events. It’s also the Mello Yello Drag Racing Series’ third consecutive race. At this point, the fatigue is starting to set in for many teams and drivers. This race could be a key indicator as to who’s slipping up and who’s still strong.

Top Fuel

Clay Millican brought the house down as he went to the No. 1 spot during night time’s second qualifying session and set the national elapsed time record. Millican threw down a blistering 3.631 second lap at 330.39 mph. Tony Schumacher was off pole and nearly five-hundredths behind Millican with his 3.680 second effort at 327.66 mph. World title contender, Doug Kalitta finished the night third after he ran 3.681 at 331.85 mph. Leah Pritchett, Brittany Force, Richie Crampton, Steve Torrence, and Dom Lagana round out the provisional top eight.

Funny Car

John Force Racing’s Robert Hight set the track ET record in Q2 with his 3.830 second pass at 333.91 mph. Hight’s boss, John Force is second after making a nice 3.832 second run at 334.65 mph. Defending world champion, Ron Capps sits in third thanks to his 3.849 second lap at 332.51 mph. Alexis Dejoria, Jack Beckman, Courtney Force, Jonnie Lindberg, and Tommy Johnson Jr. are also qualified in the top half of the field.

Pro Stock

Greg Anderson is leading the factory hot rod field with a 6.525 second lap at 211.03 mph. Anderson’s KB Racing teammate, Jason Line is off-pole after going 6.533 seconds at 211.66 mph. Drew Skillman occupies the third rung on the ladder with his 6.535 effort at 211.56 mph. Bo Butner, Chris McGaha, Erica Enders, Tanner Gray, and Allen Johnson are currently in the “quick eight” as well.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

Andrew Hines emerged from the first two qualifying sessions on top. He ran 6.802 seconds at 196.19 mph in Q1. Defending world champion, Jerry Savoie rode his way into second with a 6.817 second run at 197.28 mph. Scotty Pollacheck’s 6.820 second effort at 195.28 mph was good enough for third. Matt Smith, Karen Stoffer, Eddie LE Tonglet, Angie Smith, and Joey Gladstone will look to stay in the top half of the field tomorrow.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: