Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

Dodge NHRA Nationals Q1 & Q2

READING, Penn. (September 22, 2017) The NHRA Dodge Nationals is the second of six races in the Countdown to the Championship as well as the second consecutive weekend race teams have spent out on the road having just come from Charlotte, North Carolina. Today’s qualifying sessions kicked off what looks to be a fast weekend here at Maple Grove Raceway.

Top Fuel

Clay Millican leads the field in qualifying after the first day of time trials. Millican ran 3.699 seconds at 327.27 mph in the second session. Championship contender, Doug Kalitta is second with a 3.704 second lap at 333.66 mph. Points leader, Steve Torrence is third with his 3.720 second run at 327.66 mph. Brittany Force, Leah Pritchett, Tony Schumacher, Dom Lagana, and Antron Brown help make up the provisional top eight qualifiers.

Funny Car

Robert Hight and his AAA crew made a statement by setting both track ET and speed records. Hight ran a wicked quick 3.844 seconds at 339.02 mph (the second quickest speed in NHRA history.) Matt Hagan is currently off-pole with his 3.874 second lap at 335.82 mph. Hagan’s Don Schumacher Racing stablemate and defending world champion, Ron Capps is seated third on the ladder after he made a 3.877 second effort at 327.43 mph. Jack Beckman, Alexis Dejoria, J.R. Todd, Courtney Force, and Bob Tasca III are also on the top half of the ladder.

Pro Stock

KB Racing holds the top two spots with Bo Butner and Jason Line respectively. Butner made a solid 6.554 second pass at 210.18 mph. Jason Line is second thanks to his 6.563 second effort at 210.54 mph. Pro Stock rookie, Tanner Gray’s 6.565 second run at 210.44 mph was good enough for third. Allen Johnson, Drew Skillman, Chris McGaha, Erica Enders, and Matt Hartford. help round out the top eight.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

Hector Arana Jr. closed out the day by taking the pole position. Arana sped down the quarter-mile in 6.834 seconds at 196.76 mph. Top championship contender, Eddie Krawiec is in the second spot after his 6.841 second pass at 195.45 mph. Scotty Pollacheck’s 6.850 second run at 195.90 mph is occupying the third rung on the qualifying ladder. Andrew Hines, Karen Stoffer, Matt Smith, Joey Gladstone, and Angie Smith are also in the “quick eight.”



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: