Motorsports Recap And Behind The Scenes Access

WoO: Johnson Wins Opening Night of Jackson Nationals

By WoO Media

JACKSON, MN – June 9, 2018 – Jason Johnson came from seventh and passed Daryn Pittman on Lap 16 on a lightning-fast surface at Jackson Motorplex to score his first World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series Feature victory of the year on the opening night of the AGCO Jackson Nationals. Pittman settled for second with his Kasey Kahne Racing teammate Brad Sweet completing the podium.

Lynton Jeffrey broke the Jackson Motorplex track record in Qualifying and followed that up with a Heat Race victory and a dominating performance in the Sears Craftsman Dash to earn the pole for the 30-lap Feature alongside Daryn Pittman.

The Eunice, LA native navigated traffic masterfully, as he was able to continually put his Jason Johnson Racing No.41 higher on the racing surface while maintaining speed. Johnson went on to win his first Feature of the year by 3.431 seconds.

“I did everything but turn over in the Dash, but I was able to find some grip up top. It’s an honor to be in Victory Lane and race in front of a huge crowd. It’s amazing what everyone at Jackson Motorplex has done with the facility,” an elated Johnson said. “We’ve been so close to victory this year, it’s great to get one. I always like the tracks that have a little more grip to them,” Johnson added with a smile.

Daryn Pittman was understandably disappointed after giving up the lead at the halfway point but acknowledged that Johnson was likely the superior car in the event. “Leading races and running second is always disappointing, but Jason did a great job. I’m happy with the speed we have had the past couple of weeks and to have another solid night,” Pittman said before echoing Johnson’s statement about the improvements at Jackson. “This place is really cool and we are all glad to be here, hopefully, Mother Nature will cooperate tomorrow.

Brad Sweet was content with his podium run, “Thinking of the big picture, we need to stay in the hunt. It’s good to have some points heading into tomorrow because you never know what you are going to get with a day show.”

David Gravel came from 12th to finish fourth, good enough for KSE Hard Charger Honors with Brian Brown completing the top-five. Jeffrey settled for sixth with Jason Sides, Donny Schatz, 14th-starting Dominic Scelzi and Ian Madsen completing the top ten.

The AGCO Jackson Nationals continue tomorrow afternoon with the make-up event from Thursday. Hot Laps are scheduled for 1pm local time. The doubleheader will be completed Saturday evening, as scheduled, with the Jackson Nationals Feature paying $40,000 to win and $3,000 to take the Green Flag. If you can’t make it to the track, catch every lap on!

Feature (30 Laps, car number, driver, starting position): 1. 41-Jason Johnson [7]; 2. 9-Daryn Pittman [2]; 3. 49-Brad Sweet [3]; 4. 5-David Gravel [12]; 5. 21-Brian Brown [10]; 6. 12-Lynton Jeffrey [1]; 7. 7S-Jason Sides [4]; 8. 15-Donny Schatz [9]; 9. 41S-Dominic Scelzi [14]; 10. 18-Ian Madsen [6]; 11. 11K-Kraig Kinser [11]; 12. 3-Tim Kaeding [13]; 13. 2-Shane Stewart [5]; 14. 2M-Kerry Madsen [18]; 15. 13JT-Mark Dobmeier [22]; 16. 19-Brent Marks [19]; 17. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [16]; 18. 1S-Logan Schuchart [15]; 19. 97G-Hunter Schuerenberg [24]; 20. 1A-Jacob Allen [20]; 21. 83H-Justin Henderson [21]; 22. 64-Scotty Thiel [17]; 23. 83-Cory Eliason [8]; 24. O9-Matt Juhl [23]; Lap Leaders: Lynton Jeffrey 1-5, Daryn Pittman 6-15, Jason Johnson 16-30; KSE Hard Charger Award: 5-David Gravel[+8]

Qualifying Flight-A: 1. 2-Shane Stewart, 12.99; 2. 41-Jason Johnson, 13.038; 3. 9-Daryn Pittman, 13.084; 4. 11K-Kraig Kinser, 13.177; 5. 15-Donny Schatz, 13.179; 6. 83-Cory Eliason, 13.223; 7. 64-Scotty Thiel, 13.224; 8. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 13.283; 9. 3-Tim Kaeding, 13.286; 10. 83H-Justin Henderson, 13.302; 11. 13JT-Mark Dobmeier, 13.32; 12. O9-Matt Juhl, 13.357; 13. 7-Carson McCarl, 13.416; 14. 19-Brent Marks, 13.49; 15. 23W-Scott Winters, 13.551; 16. 16-Travis Whitney, 13.585; 17. 7W-Tasker Phillips, 13.601; 18. 9X-Paul Nienhiser, 13.75; 19. O5-Colin Smith, 13.777; 20. 4X-Eric Schulz, 14.212; 21. 14K-Tori Knutson, 14.73

Qualifying Flight-B: 1. 12-Lynton Jeffrey, 12.918; 2. 7S-Jason Sides, 13.003; 3. 18-Ian Madsen, 13.041; 4. 49-Brad Sweet, 13.082; 5. 21-Brian Brown, 13.099; 6. 5-David Gravel, 13.106; 7. 41S-Dominic Scelzi, 13.113; 8. 1A-Jacob Allen, 13.127; 9. 2M-Kerry Madsen, 13.197; 10. 19P-Paige Polyak, 13.271; 11. 2KS-Austin McCarl, 13.274; 12. 97G-Hunter Schuerenberg, 13.312; 13. 13-Clyde Knipp, 13.318; 14. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild, 13.323; 15. 19L-R.J. Johnson, 13.325; 16. 24-Terry McCarl, 13.334; 17. W20-Greg Wilson, 13.338; 18. 17B-Bill Balog, 13.341; 19. 55-Brooke Tatnell, 13.352; 20. 20-Brant O’Banion, 13.679; 21. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 13.877

For full results from Night 1 of the AGCO Jackson Nationals, go to




Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: